Home        Background        Q  &  A        Discography        Music Trivia        Lyrics        Resources        About  

Erasure FAQ

Erasure have been making synthesizer pop music for 20 years now, with Vince Clarke creating the music and Andy Bell singing. The Erasure FAQ (www.thunderguy.com/erasure) answers many frequently asked questions about this duo. I've compiled this from many sources, so it may not be totally accurate (though I do try). Please send me any suggestions, criticisms, bouquets or brickbats.

Andy Bell’s life story

10 August 2005 (Blog)

Andy’s website now has a little autobiography on it. It’s a fun read if you want to find out a bit more about where Andy came from. Good info too — I finally learned the name of his partner in Dinger, his pre-Erasure band (it’s Pierre). You can also find out about what music he was into before Erasure — Yazoo and Alison Moyet, for example. Maybe he had an inkling of what was to come: “One day when we were listening to Alf (Alison’s first album), my flat-mate Andy said next year this is going to be you. He was always a bit psychic.”

News: Erasure Acoustic Tour

21 January 2006

Erasure will tour the UK in a few months — just a little tour, playing acoustic sets in a few selected venues.

  • 14 April: Edinburgh Usher Hall
  • 15 April: Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
  • 16 April: Manchester Lowry
  • 17 April: Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
  • 19 April: London Shepherds Bush Empire
  • 21 April: Gateshead Sage

The Usher Hall is a lovely venue — I went there a few times, but (sadly) never to see Erasure.

European and North American dates will be scheduled to follow the UK tour. As usual, no word on any Australasian dates. 🙁

News: Andy Bell “Crazy” on iTunes

27 September 2005


Crazy, the first single from Andy Bell, is out now in the UK. You can buy a CD at your friendly local record shop, or a digital download over the Internet. If you’re in Britain, you can buy the various versions of Crazy at the iTunes Music Store through these links:

Crazy – Single

Crazy (Remixes) – EP

Crazy (Acoustic Version) – Single

Use these links to buy Crazy and Apple will throw a few pennies to the Erasure FAQ. Thanks in advance!

News: Andy Bell’s Electric Blue Vinyl

11 September 2005

Andy Bell’s solo album Electric Blue will be released as a limited edition vinyl record as well as on CD. The LP will be pressed on electric blue vinyl and will be limited to 1000 copies only. A very nice collector’s edition, especially as there’s not so much vinyl around this century. You can pre-order it at Amazon.co.uk by following one of these links. Be quick!

While you’re at Amazon.co.uk, you might also want to buy a turntable so you can actually play the record! (If you’re in the USA you can get a turntable at Amazon.com.)

News: Crazy

14 August 2005

AndyBell.com now has short clips of Andy’s upcoming single Crazy. The lyrics are there too.

I’m driven by a heavy beat

When you put your hand in my hand
I go down then I go crazy for you

The song is not quite “driven by a heavy beat” but it is more in a mainstream dance-pop style than recent Erasure. The lyrics tell an impressionistic tale of intoxicating desire — a classic pop music theme if ever there was one. And it’s very catchy; I have been going round all day singing “crazy, crazy” to myself.

News: Electric Blue available for pre-order

13 August 2005

Andy Bell’s solo album Electric Blue is now available for pre-ordering from Amazon, if you’re really keen (it’s not out until October). Amazon.co.uk is cheaper than Amazon.com, though there will be postage costs if you’re in the USA. Why not order a copy from each and see which arrives first? 🙂

News: Electric Blue track listing

19 July 2005

The final tracklisting for Andy Bell’s solo album Electric Blue has been confirmed. As I hoped, there are two duets with Claudia Brücken.

  1. Intro
  2. Caught in a Spin
  3. Crazy
  4. Love Oneself (with Claudia Brücken)
  5. I Thought It Was You (with Jake Shears)
  6. Electric Blue
  7. Jealous
  8. Shaking My Soul
  9. Runaway
  10. I’ll Never Fall in Love Again
  11. Delicious (with Claudia Brücken)
  12. Fantasy
  13. See the Lights Go Out
  14. The Rest of our Lives

The album will be released on CD and electric blue vinyl.

News: Andy Bell on new Goldfrapp single

15 July 2005

Andy Bell features on Goldfrapp’s new DVD single Ooh La La. Manhattan Clique, who worked with Andy on his solo album, provide a remix featuring Andy’s vocals on the imaginatively-titled When Andy Bell Met Manhattan Clique Remix.

I saw Goldfrapp play at the Fuji Rock Festival in 2003. That Alison is quite a performer. Erasure’s latest album moved more towards the Goldfrapp sound, so the Andy remix of Ooh La La should be a good listen.

News: Electric Blue album details

15 July 2005

Andy Bell’s solo album Electric Blue will actually feature three duets, according to Billboard magazine. They quoted one of the album’s producers as saying that the 14 tracks would include I Thought It Was You, a duet with Jake Shears from the Scissor Sisters, and Love Oneself and Delicious with Claudia Brücken.

The official press release says that there are only two duets, but the wording may be a little vague. Three sounds good to me. I’m looking forward to hearing Andy sing with Claudia Brücken.

News: Andy Bell’s solo album

30 June 2005

Andy Bell’s long-awaited solo album, Electric Blue, will be released in October 2005. Andy is working with the New York production team Manhattan Clique on the album.

The album tracks include Crazy, the first single; a duet with the excellent Claudia Brücken; a collaboration with Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters; and many more poptastic treats.

(Claudia Brücken was a founding member of Propaganda years ago; subsequently she was in Act, and has also released music solo and in collaboration with others. And it’s all excellent.)

Back with Andy, the Crazy single is due in September and will include mixage by one Vincent J. Clarke.

  Home        Background        Q  &  A        Discography        Music Trivia        Lyrics        Resources        About  

Erasure FAQ Copyright 1994-2005 Bennett McElwee. All rights reserved. Please ask me before copying any part of it. Thanks!